top of page
  • Writer's pictureOCC

Christmas and Conscious Compassion Practice

By Sohini


Festivals bring to mind social gatherings, the artful and vibrant act of communing to share values, love, and cheer alongside reflections on everything that our lives stand for. Every tradition comes with its special days for celebration and all year round, these days teach us to consciously remember the important stuff beyond the daily normal. And perhaps one of the most important values taught that we often forget despite everything else remains the art of being more thoughtful and inclusive of those that are more unfortunate than us as we celebrate. Everyone has the right to celebrate and maybe it is the responsibility of the community somewhere to make sure that at least on these days of celebration of life, the underprivileged get their share of the experience of being alive beyond all the struggle for survival. This Christmas was a lesson in inclusion for me. As I reflect on the art of practicing compassion and how it has shaped me over the past few months since the birth of OCC, I realize how striking the personal shift has been. This Christmas helped me evolve beyond the "daily normal" in a way I had not quite anticipated. And it all began with a phone call.


Diya, my friend who is more of a younger sister was on the line.

Diya: "Sohini di, so you are back in Kolkata? What are your plans for Christmas?"


Me: " Hey Diya. Yeah, I am back. I am just planning to have a quiet Christmas this year. Too tired to go out. I have some work to finish too. "


Diya: " I see. Actually, I needed some help. I don't know where to begin."


Me: "Sure. Tell me. I am listening."


Diya: " I really wanted to distribute gifts to street children this Christmas but I have not done anything like this before and need guidance. I know you are tired and want to rest. But can you help me with this a little? Please?"


It was Diya's intention and compassion that probably opened me up to considering putting aside my plans of resting for a few days more and to jump right in. I was touched that Diya was thinking about those kids whose parents probably had to worry about putting food on the table this Christmas owing to the COVID crisis and about these families who probably barely knew what it was like to celebrate anything beyond the fact that they survived one more day successfully. She considered that the right to a childhood where Santa was real and there was faith in the Universe regarding good things finding their way to good people is sacred to developing a more hopeful and positive perspective to life. Sometimes, that is all it takes to help someone know that it doesn't matter if they were born in a mansion or on the streets. They have equal right to believe in the promises that life has to offer and that goodness will find those that seek the same.


I devised a strategy to help Diya fundraise and then tucked in this vision of a successful gift distribution drive into my meditation practice. Soon we had mobilized enough funds and the two of us were bearing huge bags of goodies for the kids, packed into neat little socks with a Santa cap. We made sure masks and sanitizers were covered in the gift items besides 5-6 kinds of candies, cookies, and nutty delights. On Christmas eve, we drove across the city, handing out these little gifts to every kid on the streets that we met that day. The surprise and glee that adorned the faces of these children as they held their gifts was priceless! I cannot really put into words what such little acts of compassion and thoughtfulness could do, but it reinstated my faith in the fact that this little act that Diya initiated and that I supported and facilitated, gifted an underprivileged child with the experience that he/she is not forgotten and has the right to celebrate life beyond all odds.







As the year comes to a close, I hope this story motivates you to consider participating in community building through inclusive acts of grace, compassion, and thoughtfulness. Believe me, it doesn't take anything away from you but only doubles your experience of being alive, supporting life in all that it stands for.

25 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page